9 MOOCs to discover social entrepreneurship

Having an idea for a social impact project is a good thing. Learning how to grow and implement that idea is even better. The life of an entrepreneur (be it social or other) is complex, with lots of zigs and zags: market studies, customer validations, searching for funding… many steps are involved in getting a business up and running. These are things you can learn! And we’re lucky today to have a host of opportunities available through online classes. We’ve complied a selection of MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) geared toward social entrepreneurship for you, in both English and French. Now you just have to choose the best one for you.

1. Social entrepreneurship: from desire to project (FR)

A MOOC organised by the ESSEC Business School that will teach you about social entrepreneurship and make you want to get started. Clear and instructive content with meaningful and inspiring testimonies. A great starting point!

2. Becoming a change entrepreneur (FR)

Provided by Ticket for Change and HEC Paris, the approach to this course is threefold: introspection, inspiration and actions. Designed for anyone who wants to have a positive impact on society but doesn’t know how to go about it, it will help usher you from desire to idea, and from idea to action.

MOOC2

3. Identifying social entrepreneurship opportunities (EN)

A comprehensive and well-crafted program offered by the Copenhagen Business School. In this MOOC, you will have the opportunity to work on a specific project with a group via exercises that will get you thinking about social issues and opportunities to seize.

4. Changing the world: time to take action (FR)

Want to learn about business models for social enterprises? Eager to get started but don’t know where to begin? Then this ESSEC Business School MOOC is just what you need. On the agenda: discovering social business plans, building a business model, and financing a project.

5. New models of business in society (EN)

The objective of this MOOC, made available by the University of Virginia, is to reconcile economic performance and social impact. You will learn how to step out of the traditional view of businesses and open your mind to ideas such as philanthropy, corporate responsibility and sustainable development.

6. Social entrepreneurship 101 (EN)

This MOOC, from +Acumen, will help you better understand the fundamentals of social entrepreneurship. On the agenda: inspiring testimonies from social entrepreneurs, case studies and practical exercises used to identify social problems, define your vision and understand the theory of change.

MOOC3

7. Evaluating and measuring social impact (FR)

Why and how to measure your social impact? Which tools to choose, how to apply them and how to use the results? These are essential questions for any social entrepreneur. Don’t miss this  MOOC if your entrepreneurial project is still in the modeling phase.

8. How to finance your solidarity project (FR)

Self-financing, crowdfunding, sponsoring… there is quite a wide range of solutions for financing your project, whether it’s an association or another humanitarian, solidarity or sustainable development pursuit. This MOOC was developed by Les Trophées Solidaires, a contest for student projects in the area of solidarity and sustainable development in France.

9. Financing a social impact project (FR)

This MOOC, by the ESSEC Business School, is part of a series of episodes on Impact Investing. It will help you identify your financing needs, find the funders best suited to your needs, and structure your pitch.

We hope this selection will help you move forward with your social entrepreneurship project! If you think of other MOOCs to add to the list, please feel free to share!

You liked this content? Share it now!

9 MOOCs pour découvrir l’entrepreneuriat social

Avoir une idée d’un projet à impact social, c’est bien. Découvrir comment la faire grandir et la mettre en œuvre, c’est encore mieux. La vie d’un entrepreneur, social ou pas, est complexe et sinueuse : étude de marché, validation clients, recherche de financements… Les étapes par lesquelles il faut passer pour réussir à créer son entreprise sont nombreuses.  Mais tout cela s’apprend ! Et le digital nous offre aujourd’hui de nombreuses possibilités grâce aux formations en ligne. Nous avons sélectionné pour vous quelques MOOC (Massive Open Online Courses), en français et en anglais, orientés vers l’entrepreneuriat social. Il ne vous reste qu’à choisir celui qui est le plus pertinent pour vous.

1. L'entrepreneuriat social: de l'envie au projet (FR)

Un MOOC organisé par l’ESSEC Business School qui vous permettra d’apprendre ce qu’est l’entrepreneuriat social et vous donnera l’envie de vous lancer. Le contenu est clair, instructif avec des témoignages utiles et inspirants. Un bon point de départ !

2. Devenir entrepreneur de changement (FR)

Proposé par Ticket for Change et HEC Paris, il est basé sur une triple approche : introspection, inspiration et actions. Conçu pour toutes les personnes qui veulent avoir un impact positif dans la société mais qui ne savent pas comment agir, il vous aidera de passer de l’envie à l’idée et de l’idée à l’action.

MOOC2

3. Identifier des opportunités sur l'entrepreneuriat social (EN)

Un programme complet et bien conçu proposé par l’Ecole de Commerce de Copenhague. Pendant ce mooc, vous aurez l’opportunité de travailler en groupe sur un projet précis via des exercices qui vous feront réfléchir aux problèmes sociaux et aux opportunités à déceler.

4. Changer le monde: passons à l'action (FR)

Vous voulez comprendre ce qu’est un business model pour une entreprise sociale ? Vous souhaitez vous lancer mais vous ne savez pas par où commencer ? Ce MOOC, organisé par l’ESSEC Business School, est fait pour vous. Au programme: découvrir le business plan social, construire son business model et financer son projet.

5. Nouveaux modèles commerciaux dans la société (EN)

Concilier performance économique et impact social ou environnemental est possible, tel est l’objectif de ce MOOC, proposé par l’Université de Virginie. Vous y découvrirez comment sortir de la vision traditionnelle de l’entreprise et s’ouvrir à des notions de philanthropie, de responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise et de développement durable.

6. Social entrepreneurship 101 (EN)

Ce MOOC, conçu par +acumen, vous aidera à comprendre les bases de l’entrepreneuriat social. Au programme : témoignages inspirants d’entrepreneurs sociaux, études de cas et exercices pratiques afin d’identifier le problème social, définir votre vision et comprendre la théorie de changement.

MOOC3

7. Évaluation et mesure de l'impact social (FR)

Pourquoi et comment mesurer son impact social ? Quels outils choisir, comment les mettre en œuvre, comment en exploiter les résultats ? Ces sont des questions cruciales pour toute entreprise sociale. Ne ratez pas ce MOOC si vous êtes dans la phase de modélisation de votre projet entrepreneurial.

8. Comment financer son projet solidaire (FR)

Autofinancement, crowdfunding, sponsoring… un panel élargi de solutions pour financer votre projet, qu’il s’agisse d’une association ou tout autre idée de projet à vocation humanitaire, solidaire ou de développement durable. Ce MOOC a été conçu par les Trophées Solidaires, un concours dédié aux projets portés par des étudiants dans le domaine de la solidarité et du développement durable en France.

9. Financer un projet à impact social (FR)

Ce MOOC, développé par l’ESSEC Business School, fait partie d’une série d’épisodes sur l’Impact Investing. Il vous permettra d’identifier vos besoins en termes de financement ainsi que les financeurs les plus adaptés à vos besoins et élaborer votre propre pitch.

Nous espérons que cette sélection vous aidera dans votre projet d’entrepreneuriat social ! Si vous pensé à d’autres MOOC de référence, n’hésitez pas à les partager !

Ce contenu vous a plu ? Partagez-le !