Creating a business driven by positive impact is possible!

Positive-impact economy is gaining ground and has become somewhat of a hot topic these days! Whether you’re only just creating your business or transforming your model to a more sustainable one, here are a few tips to inspire you and help you to combine ethics, innovation, social impact, and cost-effectiveness.

1. Think about your purpose

What is your end goal, or rather, your mission? What sector would you most like to make a positive impact in? Keep in mind that the former goes hand in hand with your mission, and that one flows from the other. Let’s use the example of Yves Rocher1, a classic business that transformed itself into a “mission-driven company,” a new type of company in France that advocates for an equal balance between economic performance and contribution to the common good. Within the context of their purpose, (reconnecting communities to nature), they developed a practical action plan spanning 10 years with the creation of a “Nature Academy,” so that their 18,000 employees can be made aware of the power of nature and the planting of 100 million trees. As you can probably tell, the purpose should be clear and realistic from an operational standpoint. Otherwise, it risks being seen as marketing or greenwashing operations.

2. Engage your collaborators

A thorny question for every step towards sustainable transformation: how do you create, excite, or get a community of collaborators to engage in your business’ purpose2? Your collaborators have to understand the “why” and the “what for” of your commitments. It’s important to define a strategy as well as clear, precise, and achievable objectives.  The concerned matters will occupy a central position in your strategy! Therefore, we advise you to work on potential problems that your collaborators may be experiencing and to choose relevant, concrete, and eloquent themes. For example, how your business recycles waste, creates more ethical products, or reinvents your supply chain.3

3. Breathe new life into your activity

It could be relevant to perform an assessment with the help of professional expertise during this step. Doing this work will allow you to identify priorities for improving your service provision or product manufacturing process and for turning sustainability into a real opportunity with your structure. Within the context of your product, this step is less evident and may appear complex at first. In any case, reviewing your organization inside and out is essential. Work on your value chain to think about which actions to implement for improving your local presence and reducing your energy consumption, etc. Who are your providers and how do you choose them? Are they ethical? Where are they based? Have you thought about integrating the matter of social inclusion into your activity and if so, how would you do it?

4. Think your politics over

Horizontal management, liberated companies… Management is constantly evolving and increasingly values collaborative innovation and the ability to adapt to new collaborator needs as well as their professional quest. The integration of shared professional tools (such as Slack or Trello) simplifies management and project realization, and introduces more flexibility and independence to the business. Increasingly more businesses are trying out these atypical management methods with decentralized decision-making processes that encourage a collective understanding, and trust over control. A great and inspiring example in France is Makesense4 who implemented a community-based governance model and a No-CEO business model that comprised a decentralized decision-making culture.

5. Convey your mission through your identity

If you’ve already created your business, what could be better than using your brand identity for communicating your mission and social commitment?  The Body Shop, an international cosmetics-based company, bases its identity on five ethical values: protecting the planet, supporting fair trade, encouraging self-esteem, defending human rights, and opposing animal testing. This company also campaigns for different ethical and environmental causes, notably the fight against HIV and domestic abuse.

6. Communicate around your cause

It’s really important to convey your commitments throughout this step. Limiting yourself to publishing a social responsibility assessment in your annual report, or to mentioning your contributions to meetings or events you were invited to are certainly things to be avoided.

We hope this article has inspired you and given you some initial tips to think about for committing yourself to sustainable transformation that responds to current societal affairs. Following this article, we’ll offer you some practical tips for realizing this transformation in Luxembourg.

You liked this content? Share it now!

Créer une entreprise à impact positif, c’est possible !

L’économie à impact positif gagne du terrain. On en parle de plus en plus aujourd’hui ! Que vous soyez dans l’étape de création de votre entreprise ou de transformation vers un modèle plus durable, voici quelques pistes de réflexion pour vous inspirer et vous aider à conjuguer éthique, innovation, impact social et rentabilité !

1. Réfléchissez à votre raison d’être

Quelle est votre finalité, autrement dit votre mission ? Quel est le domaine dans lequel vous aimeriez agir en apportant un impact positif ? N’oubliez pas que ce dernier va de pair avec la mission et que l’un découle de l’autre. Prenons l’exemple de Yves Rocher1, une entreprise classique qui s’est transformée en « une entreprise à mission », une nouvelle forme d’entreprise en France qui prône l’égalité entre la performance économique et la contribution au bien commun. Dans le cadre de sa raison d’être (reconnecter ses communautés à la nature), elle a développé un plan d’action concret sur dix ans avec la création d’une « Nature Academy » pour que les 18 000 salariés puissent être sensibilisés au pouvoir de la nature et à la plantation de 100 millions d’arbres. Comme vous le constatez, la raison d’être doit être claire et réaliste d’un point de vue opérationnel, sinon elle risque d’être perçue comme une opération de marketing ou de greenwashing.

2. Engagez vos collaborateurs

Question épineuse pour toute démarche de transformation durable : comment créer et animer une communauté de collaborateurs engagés autour de la raison d’être de votre entreprise2 ? Vos collaborateurs doivent comprendre le « pourquoi » et le « pour quoi faire » de vos engagements. Il est important de définir une stratégie et des objectifs clairs, précis et atteignables.  Les sujets traités vont avoir une place centrale dans votre stratégie ! Nous vous conseillons donc de travailler sur des problématiques qui tiennent chères à vos collaborateurs et de choisir des thématiques impactantes, concrètes et parlantes, par exemple comment recycler les déchets de votre entreprise, créer des produits plus éthiques ou réinventer vos circuits d’approvisionnement.3

3. Donnez un nouveau souffle à votre activité

Il peut être pertinent de faire un diagnostic et se faire accompagner par des professionnels dans cette démarche. Ce travail vous permettra d’identifier les priorités pour améliorer votre processus de prestation de service ou de fabrication de votre produit et faire de la durabilité une réelle opportunité au sein de votre structure. Dans le cadre d’un produit, cette démarche est moins évidente et peut s’avérer assez complexe. Dans tous les cas, revoir votre organisation interne et externe est primordial. Travaillez sur votre chaîne de valeurs afin de réfléchir aux actions à mettre en place pour augmenter votre ancrage local, réduire votre consommation énergétique, etc. Quels sont vos fournisseurs et comment les sélectionnez-vous ? Sont-ils éthiques ? Où sont-ils situés ? Avez-vous envisagé d’intégrer la thématique de l’inclusion sociale dans vos activités et comment ?

4. Repensez votre gouvernance

Management horizontal, entreprise libérée, … Le management évolue sans cesse et valorise toujours plus l’innovation collaborative, l’adaptation aux nouveaux besoins des collaborateurs ainsi que leur quête de sens au travail. L’intégration d’outils de travail partagés et collaboratifs (slack, trello,… ) facilitent la gestion et l’animation de projets et amènent plus d’autonomie et de flexibilité dans l’organisation. De plus en plus d’entreprises expérimentent ces modes de managements atypiques avec des processus de décisions décentralisés favorisant l’intelligence collective et la confiance plutôt que le contrôle. Un bel exemple inspirant en France est Makesense4 qui a mis en place un modèle de gouvernance basé sur la communauté et un modèle d’organisation sans CEO avec une culture de prise de décision décentralisée.

5. Véhiculez votre mission via votre identité

Si vous avez déjà créé votre entreprise, quoi de mieux que d’utiliser votre identité de marque pour transmettre votre mission et votre engagement sociétal ?  The Body Shop, une entreprise internationale dans le domaine des cosmétiques, base son identité sur cinq valeurs liées à l’éthique : protéger la planète, soutenir le commerce équitable, favoriser l’estime de soi, défendre les droits de l’homme et s’opposer aux tests sur les animaux. Cette entreprise milite aussi pour différentes causes éthiques et environnementales, notamment la lutte contre le VIH et les violences familiales.

6. Communiquez autour de votre cause

Il est très important de communiquer votre engagement dans cette démarche. Se limiter à publier un bilan de responsabilité sociale dans votre rapport annuel ou à mentionner vos contributions lors des conférences ou des événements auxquelles vous êtes invité(e) sont certainement des choses à éviter.

Nous espérons que cet article vous a inspiré et vous a donné quelques premières pistes de réflexion pour vous engager sur le chemin d’une transformation durable répondant aux enjeux actuels de la société. Dans la suite de cet article, vous vous proposerons des pistes concrètes au Luxembourg pour réaliser cette transformation.

Ce contenu vous a plu ? Partagez-le !